Arkansas Online Drivers Ed

Arkansas Online Drivers Ed

$65

No Fees or Useless Add-ons
  • For Arkansas Students Only
  • Complete On Any Device
  • Automatically Tracked Progress on all Devices
  • Free Online Practice Permit Tests
Arkansas Online Drivers Ed Information

New to Arkansas?

 

Unfortunately, if you're new to Arkansas and you have a learner's permit from your previous state, your out-of-state learner's permit will not transfer. In order to get your Arkansas learner's permit, you'll need to complete the steps below.

 

Apply for an Arkansas Learner's Permit

 

All new drivers in Arkansas, regardless of age, must acquire a learner's permit prior to getting their first driver's license in the state. The only exceptions are drivers who have a valid license (not permit!) from another state that you can transfer into Arkansas.

 

To get your driver's permit in the state of Arkansas, you must be at least 14 years old. Testing is administered by the Arkansas State Police (ASP); you will need to visit an ASP testing site and provide the required documents mentioned below.

 

  • A completed Application for Driver's License/Learner's Permit. Applications will be provided at the ASP testing site.
  • Proof of your identity:
    • If you're under 18 years old, this must be your birth certificate.
    • You'll also need to bring your parent or guardian to sign your forms and provide proof of enrollment in school. You can obtain your proof of enrollment from your school, your school district office or the state Education Department.

Taking the Arkansas Permit Test

 

  • Once you have all the required documents in hand, it's time to head to an Arkansas State Police testing site to take your written test. It's always a good idea to make an appointment.
  • The written permit test will be comprised of written questions about Arkansas road signs, traffic laws, and rules of safe driving.
  • If you want to avoid the embarrassment of failing the written exam, we suggest studying with our comprehensive online course.

Arkansas Learner's Permit Driving Restrictions

 

With your learner's permit in hand, you can now drive, but there are a few restrictions:

  • You must be accompanied by a licensed driver 21 years old or older.
  • All passengers must always wear seat belts.
  • You are not allowed to use a cellular telephone or wireless communication device while driving except to report an emergency.

 

Behind-the-Wheel Driving Requirements

 

Currently Arkansas does not have any behind-the-wheel supervised driving requirements. Most states require between 30 and 40 hours, with at least 10 hours at night. Though not currently required, it's highly recommended that you complete these hours either with your supervising driver or with at a commercial driving school.

 

Your Next Step: Getting Your License

 

Your next step in the Arkansas GDL process is to get either your provisional or full driver's license. But first, you must hold your Arkansas learner's permit for a minimum of 6 months without any traffic violations or accidents before you're eligible to apply. .